|  Home  |  Climate Research  |  My Research  |  Publications  |  CV  |  Around the World  |  Outside work  | 
http://www.ncaaplayershop.com http://www.realmadridplayershop.com http://www.blackhawksplayeruniform.com/shop_by_player/corey-crawford-chicago-blackhawks-adidas-youth-women-adult-mens-jersey-6xl-5xl-4xl-3xl-2xl-l-m-s http://www.blackhawksplayeruniform.com/shop_by_player/clark-griswold-chicago-blackhawks-adidas-youth-women-adult-mens-jersey-6xl-5xl-4xl-3xl-2xl-l-m-s http://www.blackhawksplayeruniform.com/shop_by_player/jonathan-toews-chicago-blackhawks-adidas-youth-women-adult-mens-jersey-6xl-5xl-4xl-3xl-2xl-l-m-s http://www.blackhawksplayeruniform.com/shop_by_player/artemi-panarin-chicago-blackhawks-adidas-youth-women-adult-mens-jersey-6xl-5xl-4xl-3xl-2xl-l-m-s http://www.blackhawksplayeruniform.com/shop_by_player/patrick-kane-chicago-blackhawks-adidas-youth-women-adult-mens-jersey-6xl-5xl-4xl-3xl-2xl-l-m-s http://www.blackhawksplayeruniform.com/shop_by_player/brent-seabrook-chicago-blackhawks-adidas-youth-women-adult-mens-jersey-6xl-5xl-4xl-3xl-2xl-l-m-s http://www.mlbplayeronline.com http://www.asmonacoplayershop.com http://www.chelseaplayerstore.com http://www.arsenalplayershop.com/2017-18-ARSENAL-KITS-SHOP/Alexis-Sanchez-Arsenal-2017-18-Jersey-For-Women-Youth http://www.ncaaplayershop.com/NCAA_Alabama_Crimson_Tide_Football_Jersey_Online_Store/Mens_Eddie_Lacy_University_Football_Jersey_In_Adult_Size_S_M_L_XL_2XL_3XL http://www.realmadridplayershop.com/2017-18-REAL-MADRID-KITS 2017 saint germain jersey http://www.barcelonaplayershop.com/2017-18-barcelona-kits-for-sale.html http://www.mufcplayerjersey.com/2017-18-manchester-united-kit-discount-shop.html http://www.intermilanplayershop.com/inter-milan-2017-18-kits.html http://www.bayernmunchenplayershop.com/bayern-munich-2017-18-kit-for-sale.html http://www.blackhawksplayerjersey.com/blackhawks-adidas-new-uniforms.html www.mlbplayershop.com atleticomadridplayershop.com marian hossa jersey andrew shaw jersey clark griswold jersey patrick kane jersey duncan keith jersey jonathan toews jersey Artemi Panarin Jersey Corey Crawford jersey http://www.lakingsplayerstore.com/



Create Account
Forgot Your Password?





Outside work 

I guess that one reason why I chose to be a physical geographer is because I like nature and spending lots of times outdoors. I prefere high latitude/altitude places. Ever since I was little, I have been facinated by the mountains. I enjoy the vastness, the unpredictability of the weather, the fantastic views and the solitude. In 2002 I had the opportunity to work at the Climate Impacts Research Centre, Abisko Scientific Research Station (68°21'N, 18°49'E), which is situated in the small village of Abisko (c. 100 inhabitants) in northernmost Sweden. Living an working in the mountains was an excellent experience.

View of the famous "Lapporten" which towers over Abisko (Photo by Peter Rosén, for more samples of his fantastic photos, click here).

The Departmet of Physical Geography and Quaternary Geology at Stockholm University, where I did my undergraduate to PhD studies, has a strong tradition in Glaciology. My studies there affected me severely: I fell completely in love with glaciers! I have spent many good times at Trarfala Research Station (67°55’N, 18°35’E), which is located beneath Swedens highest mountain Kebnekaise.

Tarfala valley, littered with glaciers.

Since 1995 I have spent time in the central Scandinavian Mountains doing field work during summers. However I have gone there for vaccations during winter since I was little, mainly to go skiing (both downhill and cross country). The views here can be stunning, even though the mountains are quite low.

Skiing with my son (in the "sleigh") on the southern slope of Snasahögarna with Sylarna in the background)

Being born and bred on the Swedish east coast, it is not easy to move to the "back side" of Sweden (i.e. the west coast, where Goteborg is located). However, I have come to appreciate the west coast (around and north of Göteborg), which is very much different from the east coast. Since my wife is keen on sailing, we spend som time doing just that during the summers. Quite nice actually...


Sailing the Swedish west coast

Most time outside work is devoted to my family: my wife Karin, Oskar (born in 2003) and Otto (born in 2006). The two O's are a couple of wonderful guys, who always cheer me up when I get home from a hard day at the office. I really look forward to being home with them next year (parental leave).


Here they are, Oskar and Otto.


Oskar cheering for Sweden in the World Cup 2006


Otto is ready to start moving


This is Karin, my beautiful wife (in a salt desert in Bolivia).


Here we are on a mountain top near Abisko with our telemark skis.

We have just finished building a house on the island of Hisingen (just outside Göteborg), close to the ocean with lots of nature for the kids to roam around in.


The house

Earth Sciences Centre // Göteborg University // Guldhedsgatan 5A, Box 460 // 405 30 Göteborg, Sweden